Just another WordPress.com site

Day 17



Day 17, originally uploaded by simplysilly.

Share

our cat Guinness had some … issues … for lack of a better word, after our daughter came home from the hospital. We brought Emme home, got a carpet remnant for the basement, and blindingly went on our way. For 3 months, we struggled with Guinness’ inappropriate urination and finally defection. Which clued me in that something was wrong. He just wasn’t himself. turns out he had a urinary inflammation caused by stress. To make a long story short, we got him fixed up with some homeopathic stuffs, pain meds to reduce inflammation, along with a convenia antibiotic shot for the infection and confined him for about a week. Well, last weekend, i let him out and you have never seen a happier kitty. This morning, I realized the likely reason Guinness was stressed. He didn’t have enough baby time. Seriously. When my son was a baby, Guinness was on my lap right along with brighton while he was nursing. He was a part of everything. Well, times have changed, we’re busy, and i guess poor Guinness kind of got pushed aside. So lastnight, Guinness wanted to lay next to Emme. All. Night. Long. Since we co-sleep I could keep a close eye. I woke several times through the night to make sure he wasn’t laying ON her, which he wasn’t. He laid next to her all night and all morning. Amid her uncoordinated fists landing on his nose, or his paw, he just sat there, apparently happy that he was having his baby time. I guess I need to learn to “Share” my baby a little more…

2 responses

  1. Lori

    Hey, Guinness looks an awful lot like Mia (aka Runtly). Could they be related?

    June 10, 2010 at 9:43 PM

    • Marcy

      I suppose it’s possible. He’s a polydactyl with functional toes. He was born Dec of 2004 I think? Maybe 2003? He was abandoned at a vet clinic that I used to work at when I adopted him.

      June 11, 2010 at 7:58 AM

Leave a Reply

